School District of West Salem Regular Board Meeting Minutes April 8, 2019 Marie Heider Meeting Room – 7:00 p.m.

Convene

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by President Jane Halverson. The meeting was noticed to the Coulee Courier, La Crosse Tribune, WLSU Radio 89 FM, WXOW TV-19, WKBT-TV, WKTY, WIZM, Union State Bank, First Community Credit Union, St. Joe's Country Market, River Bank-Barre Mills, West Salem Post Office, Village of West Salem, posted at each school, district web site, and district office on April 4, 2019.

Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag

Rachel Newton led everyone in the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance and Dagan Hemker recited the District Mission Statement.

Roll Call

Present: Syl Clements, Jane Halverson, Ken Schlimgen, Tom Grosskopf, Catherine Griffin, Robin Fitzgerald, and Melinda Kopnisky-Bloomfield. Also in attendance – Administrators: Troy Gunderson, Ben Wopat, Michael Johnson, Eric Jensen, Mike Malott, Ryan Rieber, Deanna Wiatt, and Shawn Handland; Student representatives: Rachel Newton and Dagan Hemker. Recording secretary: Patrick Bahr. Excused: none.

Approval of Agenda

Melinda Kopnisky-Bloomfield moved, Ken Schlimgen seconded to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Connection with the Community

Student representative and WASB acknowledgements – Mrs. Halverson presented Paige Rachel Newton and Dagan Hemker with a certificate of commendation from the WASB (Wisconsin Association of School Boards) for their service to the children in Wisconsin Public Schools. Mrs. Halverson presented outgoing Board Member Melinda Kopnisky-Bloomfield with a certificate and plaque from the WASB and also a WASB Member Recognition Certificate and pin for attaining a new level in the recognition program. Mr. Clements presented Mrs. Halverson with a WASB Member Recognition Certificate and pin for attaining a new level in the recognition program.

Art teachers Quenten Brown, Kaylin Lotspaih, Nicole Finch, and Angie Hemker were present to introduce each student to the board member, administrator or district staff who selected their piece of artwork to be displayed in the Heider Meeting Room for one year.

Rachel Newton, Student Representative, reported on:

- 1. Girls Soccer won against Altoona and won against Adams-Friendship.
- 2. Track on April 2, the girls placed 3rd and boys placed first, and at the West Salem Quad the girls and boys teams both placed first.

Dagan Hemker, Student Representative, reported on:

- 1. The WSHS Band and Choir students participated in solo and ensemble on Saturday, April 6th. Going on to state on Mary 4 at Viterbo University are 27 vocal entries and 28 instrumental entries.
- 2. The Principles of Leadership class has set up recycling bins within the high school. They will remain for the rest of the school year. Students are encouraged to recycle their plastic water bottles.
- 3. The theme for prom has been decided (Roarin' 20s) and the prom court has been decided: Abbie Cavadini, Kara Gavaghan, Meghan Hansen, Samantha Kothari, Katie Maliszewski, Taylor Sackett, Julia Stoleson, Sara Ziegler, Parker Allen, Nathan Becker, Wyndsor Goodenough, Ryley Rasmussen, Sterling Skrede, Garrett Spafford, Sawyer Springborn, and Trevor Trautsch.

Correspondence

A thank you from Deelyn Christianson and family was read.

Proclamations by Governor Tony Evers and State Superintendent of Public Instruction Carolyn Stanford Taylor proclaiming April 2019 as Military Child Month were read.

Public comments - None.

Written and Oral Reports

Finance Committee - Mrs. Griffin reported on the meeting held earlier tonight.

CESA #4 Board of Control – Mrs. Halverson reported on the events of the Board's April meeting.

Bearing Wall Committee – Mrs. Halverson announced that the 2019 Bearing Wall recipient is Marcia Thompson. Mrs. Halverson also announced that the 2019 LaVerne Nuttelman Distinguished Service Award recipients are Barb Thompson and Shirl Fosler.

Buildings & Grounds Committee - Mr. Clements reported on the events of last weeks meeting.

District Strategic Initiative updates by the Superintendent's Cabinet and Troy Gunderson were reviewed.

Consent Agenda

Mr. Schlimgen moved, Mrs. Kopnisky-Bloomfield seconded to approve the Regular Board Meeting Minutes of March 25, 2019; the Special Board Meeting Minutes of March 27, 2019; the invoices to be paid; accept the administration's recommendation to hire Shaun Borre as high school assistant golf coach, Sydney Dunham as high school girls' soccer volunteer coach, Jeanne Babiash as high school softball volunteer coach, Claire Schrader as the high school dance team head coach for the 2019-2020 season, and trap team volunteer coaches: David Bohnsak, Jeff Busse, Tom Garbers, Dale Hewitt, Dave Komah, Barry Loging, Andrea Modlin, Joe Nickles, Bryce Perrett, Ryan Rasmussen Sr., and Ron Black; and 19-20 & 20-21 administrator contracts for Eric Jensen, Lisa Gerke, Michael Johnson, and Justin Jehn. Motion carried unanimously. There were no resignations or retirements to act upon.

Discussion/Action Items:

Mrs. Kopnisky-Bloomfield moved, Mrs. Griffin seconded to accept donations from the Retired & Senior Volunteer Program (RSVP) for the middle school, from Inventory Trading Company for the baseball program, from Jay Nilam Patel for the 4-year-old kindergarten "Book of the Month" program, and from an anonymous donor for the high school scholar athlete scholarship.

Mr. Schlimgen moved, Mrs. Griffin seconded to approve for a first reading of policy #345.5 Graduation as amended. Motion carried unanimously.

Mrs. Griffin moved, Mrs. Kopnisky-Bloomfield seconded to approve for a first reading of policy #830 Facility use, Excluding Center for the Arts, #830-Rule Facility Use Requests, #830-Exhibit, Fee Schedule-as amended. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Grosskopf moved, Mrs. Griffin seconded to approve for purchase the final items for the auto lab project as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Grosskopf moved, Mrs. Kopnisky-Bloomfield seconded to direct the administration to get a quote on bleachers for the Panther Den and bring back to the Board. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Schlimgen moved, Mr. Grosskopf seconded to approve the Early College Credit Program requests for the fall of 2019 as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

The list of to do items / information requests was reviewed and recommended updates were noted.

Mrs. Halverson welcomed the motion for closed session: The Board will discuss, consider and, if appropriate, take action pursuant to Wis. Stats §19.85(1) (c) "Considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility" regarding issuing preliminary notice(s) of nonrenewal to professional staff, in accordance with Wis. § Stat 118.22.

Mr. Schlimgen moved, Mr. Grosskopf seconded that the Board convene in closed session at 8:39 p.m. A roll vote was taken: Mrs. Fitzgerald, Aye; Mrs. Kopnisky-Bloomfield, Aye; Mr. Clements, Aye; Mrs. Halverson, Aye; Mrs. Griffin, Abstained; Mr. Grosskopf, Aye; and Mr. Schlimgen, Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

Closed Session

Adjournment

Mrs. Griffin moved, Mrs. Kopnisky-Bloomfield seconded to adjourn at 8:45 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

, Clerk