• Menu
  • West Salem School District Calendars
  • Skyward Access
  • Bus

West Salem DECA Leads After District Conference

01/21/2016 9:11 am

Area high school students advance to state DECA competition

Article from UW-Stout 

West Salem took seven first places and had 13 state qualifiers to lead all schools in the 44th annual DECA District One Career Development Conference Saturday, Jan. 9, at University of Wisconsin-Stout.

A total of 50 winners and runners-up advanced to the state Career Development Conference to be held March 8-10 in Lake Geneva.

Close to 500 students representing more than a dozen high schools competed in 17 individual events and seven team events.

Holmen had six first places followed by Superior with four and Glenwood City with two.  Six schools each had one champion.

Trailing West Salem with total state qualifiers were Holmen and Superior with eight apiece, followed by Hudson with four. Menomonie, Glenwood City and La Crosse Central had three apiece.

Eau Claire North and Sparta each had two state qualifiers followed by Ashland, Chippewa Falls, Eau Claire Memorial and Northwestern with one each.

Since 1946 DECA has provided co-curricular programs for students around the world interested in marketing, finance, hospitality and management careers. 

The competition was hosted by the UW-Stout marketing and business education program and its affiliated Marketing and Business Education Association. Industry professionals from the region volunteered as event judges.

UW-Stout offers a bachelor’s degree in marketing and business education.

DECA District One Career Development Conference
Saturday, Jan. 9
UW-Stout, Menomonie, Wis.

Individual events

Apparel and accessories marketing: 1. Nicole Hendry, Superior; 2. Kate Sikyta, West Salem

Automotive services marketing: 1. Aleshia Furlano, West Salem; 2. Jacob Hennessy, Glenwood City

Business financial services: 1. Nate Krien, West Salem; 2. Allison Norder, Menomonie

Business services marketing: 1. Austin Olson, Holmen; 2. India Davidson, Superior

Food marketing: 1. Brennan Bahr, West Salem; 2. Elijah Mutter-Schultz, Chippewa Falls

Hotel and lodging management: 1. Jinal Patel, West Salem; 2. Kyle Rust, Hudson

Human resource management: 1. Evan Pelke, Menomonie; 2. Kaylee Mulholland, West Salem

Marketing management: 1. Molly Bergum, Superior; 2. Maggie Dembroski, Superior

Principles of business management and administration: 1. Steve Saubtine, Superior; 2. Maddie Harr, West Salem

Personal financial literacy: 1. Nicholas Schone, Glenwood City; 2. Taylor Causby, Hudson

Principals of finance: 1. Alexandra Liethen, Holmen; 2. Jonathon Brueggeman, Holmen

Principals of hospitality and tourism: 1. Makayla O’Brien, Glenwood City; 2. (tie) Shaena Clardy, West Salem; Alayna Fender, Superior

Principals of marketing: 1. Julia Mayer, Holmen; 2. Abby Sharp, West Salem

Quick serve restaurant management: 1. Jason Thoney, Eau Claire North; 2. Braden Nissen, Holmen

Restaurant and food service management: 1. Kyrsten Stockus, West Salem; 2. Jack Johnson, Hudson

Retail merchandising: 1. Allison Rigotti, West Salem; 2. Olivia Johnson, Superior

Sports and entertainment marketing: 1. Tyler Peterson, Holmen; 2. Grant Demars, Ashland

Team events

Business and ethics law: 1. Holmen (Alison Butterfield, Bailey Navoichick); 2. West Salem (Ben Sharp, Josh Krien)

Buying and merchandising: 1. Holmen (Ashley Kromke, Bobbi Anderholm); 2. Eau Claire North (MacKenzie Vance, Emily Hayden)

Financial analysis: 1. Superior (Shane Tetzlaff, Kade Walpole); 2. Sparta (Kylee Anderson, Helania Ziegler)

Hospitality services: 1. Eau Claire Memorial (Rachel Stegge, Caroline Wille); 2. Menomonie (Megan Nimsgern, Lauren Clark)

Marketing communications: 1. (tie) West Salem (Simon Buchanan, Conner Dunn), Northwestern (Caitlin Johnson, Rose Tokar); 2. Hudson (Allison Ewig, Madison Hannon)

Sports and entertainment marketing: 1. La Crosse Central (Ronnie Bryant, Alex Dutchin); 2. La Crosse Central (Waylon Alvarado, Jacob Litman)

Travel and tourism marketing: 1. Sparta (Jackie Page, Madi Blaha); 2. La Crosse Central (Emma Johnson, Maura Anderson)



A A A A U A + A - Revert Back To Original