School District of West Salem Special Board Meeting Minutes April 16, 2020

Marie Heider Meeting Room – 6:00 p.m.

*Board members will participate via remote access. The Heider Meeting Room was open to limited spectators with the exception of Closed Session.

Convene

The meeting was called to order at 6:05 p.m. by President Jane Halverson. The meeting was noticed to the Coulee Courier, La Crosse Tribune, WLSU Radio 89 FM, WXOW TV-19, WKBT-TV, WKTY, WIZM, Union State Bank, First Community Credit Union, St. Joe's Country Market, River Bank-Barre Mills, West Salem Post Office, Village of West Salem, posted at each school, district web site, and district office on April 16, 2020, at 9:45 a.m. This meeting was at the request of a board member.

Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag

Erik Peterson led everyone in the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance and Sean Gavaghan recited the District Mission Statement.

Roll Call

Present: Jane Halverson, Ken Schlimgen, Tom Grosskopf, Catherine Griffin, Robin Fitzgerald, and Sean Gavaghan. Also in attendance Recording secretary: Patrick Bahr; Wisconsin Association of School Board's representative Fran Finco; and Board Member Elect Erik Peterson. Excused: Syl Clements.

Approval of Agenda

Mr. Gavaghan moved, Mr. Schlimgen seconded to approve the agenda as presented. A roll vote was taken: Mrs. Fitzgerald, Aye; Mr. Gavaghan, Aye; Mrs. Halverson, Aye; Mrs. Griffin, Aye; Mr. Grosskopf, Aye; and Mr. Schlimgen, Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

Mrs. Halverson welcomed the motion for closed session: The Board will discuss, consider and, if appropriate, take action pursuant to Wis. Stats §19.85(1) (c) "Considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility," regarding the employment of a new superintendent. The Board will review applications and develop interview, and prepare for the next steps of process.

Mrs. Griffin moved, Mr. Grosskopf seconded that the Board convene in closed session at 6:05 p.m. A roll vote was taken: Mrs. Fitzgerald, Aye; Mr. Gavaghan, Aye; Mrs. Halverson, Aye; Mrs. Griffin, Aye; Mr. Grosskopf, Aye; and Mr. Schlimgen, Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

Closed Session

Adjournment

Mr. Gavaghan moved, Mrs. Griffin seconded to adjourn at 8:28 p.m. A roll vote was taken: Mrs. Fitzgerald, Aye; Mr. Gavaghan, Aye; Mrs. Halverson, Aye; Mrs. Griffin, Aye; Mr. Grosskopf, Aye; and Mr. Schlimgen, Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Robin Fitzgerald, Clerk