School District of West Salem Regular Board Meeting Minutes May 26, 2020 Marie Heider Meeting Room – 7:00 p.m.

Convene

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by President Catherine Griffin. The meeting was noticed to the Coulee Courier, La Crosse Tribune, WLSU Radio 89 FM, WXOW TV-19, WKBT-TV, WKTY, WIZM, Union State Bank, First Community Credit Union, St. Joe's Country Market, River Bank-Barre Mills, West Salem Post Office, Village of West Salem, posted at each school, district web site, and district office on May 21, 2020.

Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag

Ryan Rieber led everyone in the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance and Troy Gunderson recited the District Mission Statement.

Roll Call

Present: Erik Peterson, Jane Halverson, Ken Schlimgen, Tom Grosskopf, Catherine Griffin, Robin Fitzgerald, and Sean Gavaghan. Also in attendance – Administrators: Troy Gunderson, Ben Wopat (remote access), Eric Jensen (remote access), Mike Malott (remote access), Ryan Rieber, Deanna Wiatt (remote access), and Shawn Handland; Student representatives: Maxwell Goetz and Madisyn Haun. Recording secretary: Patrick Bahr. Excused: N/A.

Approval of Agenda

Mrs. Fitzgerald moved, Mr. Gavaghan seconded to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Connection with the Community

Correspondence – None.

Public comments - None.

Introduction of student School Board representatives

Mrs. Griffin introduced Maxwell Goetz and Madisyn Haun as the new student School Board representatives.

Written and Oral Reports

Business Operations Committee – Mr. Grosskopf reported on the agenda items: building project updates, financing for lighting, and the budgets for 19-20 and 20-21.

District Strategic Initiative updates from the Business Operations Team and the Superintendent were reviewed.

Mr. Gunderson announced: the resignation of paraprofessional, Matt Duster.

Consent Agenda

Mrs. Halverson moved, Mr. Peterson seconded to approve the Regular Board Meeting Minutes of May 11, 2020, and the invoices to be paid. Motion carried.

Mrs. Halverson moved, Mr. Peterson seconded to approve the administration's high school cocurricular recommendations: varsity volleyball coach-Becki Murphy, varsity football coach-Justin Jehn, varsity boys' soccer coach-Ammar Sabar, girls' tennis coach-Julie Kamla, cheer team coach-Amber Walter, fall & winter dance team coach-Claire Schroeder, and volunteer dance team coach-Zoe Twite. Motion carried. 6-Aye, 1-Nay (Schlimgen)

Mrs. Fitzgerald moved, Mrs. Halverson seconded to approve the request to borrow sports equipment as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Resignation/Retirement[s] – None.

Discussion/Action Items:

Mr. Schlimgen moved, Mrs. Fitzgerald seconded to approve the school nutrition Management Agreement with the School District of Bangor for the 20-21 school year. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Schlimgen moved, Mr. Grosskopf seconded to approve the following Resolution: Be It Resolved that the School District will borrow on a five-year plan, in the sum of \$330,000 for the district energy saving, light replacement project. The first payment will be in March 2021. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Schlimgen moved, Mrs. Halverson seconded to close the swimming pool for the 2020 season. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Schlimgen moved, Mrs. Fitzgerald seconded to approve the sale of a 2002 Thomas Bus. Motion carried unanimously.

The list of to do items / information requests was reviewed. No action was taken.

Mrs. Griffin welcomed the motion for closed session: The Board will discuss, consider and, if appropriate, take action pursuant to Wis. Stats §19.85(1) (c) "Considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility," regarding the superintendent's evaluation.

Mrs. Halverson moved, Mr. Schlimgen seconded that the Board convene in closed session at 8:07 p.m. A roll vote was taken: Mrs. Fitzgerald, Aye; Mr. Gavaghan, Aye; Mr. Peterson, Aye; Mrs. Halverson, Aye; Mrs. Griffin, Aye; Mr. Grosskopf, Aye; and Mr. Schlimgen, Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

Closed Session

Adjournment

Mr. Schlimgen moved, Mrs. Halverson seconded to adjourn at 8:55 p.m. p.m. A roll vote was taken: Mrs. Fitzgerald, Aye; Mr. Gavaghan, Aye; Mr. Peterson, Aye; Mrs. Halverson, Aye; Mrs. Griffin, Aye; Mr. Grosskopf, Aye; and Mr. Schlimgen, Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,		
Jane Halverson, Clerk		