School District of West Salem Regular Board Meeting Minutes June 13, 2022 Marie Heider Meeting Room – 7:00 p.m.

As noted on the Public Meeting Notice: Live streaming of this meeting was available on our District's YouTube page.

Convene

The meeting was called to order at 7:04 p.m. by President Catherine Griffin. The meeting was noticed to the Coulee Courier, La Crosse Tribune, WLSU Radio 89 FM, WXOW TV-19, WKBT-TV, WKTY, Union State Bank, First Community Credit Union, Village of West Salem, posted at each school, district website, and district office on June 9, 2022.

Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag

Deanna Wiatt led everyone in the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance and Mike Malott recited the District Mission Statement.

Roll Call

Present: Erik Peterson, Chris Peterson, Catherine Griffin, and Robin Fitzgerald. Also in attendance – Administrators: Ryan Rieber, Ben Wopat, Mike Malott, Deanna Wiatt, and Shawn Handland; Student representative: Madison MacRogers. Recording secretary: Patrick Bahr. Excused: Bob Minard, Tom Grosskopf, Sean Gavaghan, Brennan Kennedy, Heidi Horton and Tami Bagstad.

Approval of Agenda

C. Peterson moved, E. Peterson seconded to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Written and Oral Reports

Teaching and Learning Committee -R. Fitzgerald reported on the agenda items: district score card and performance indicators in the strategic plan.

CESA #4 Board of Control – C. Griffin reported on the Board of Controls agenda.

District Strategic Initiative updates from the Superintendent's Cabinet Team and the Superintendent were reviewed.

Superintendent Rieber provided a district update on the parking lots, swimming pool and the end of the year staff recognition night.

Middle School Band Director, Ryan Waldhart, introduced to the Board "Tornadoes of Fire" by Dr. Michael Forbes. This was a project from the 2019-2020 Board Grants. The grant funds were used to commission a project to have a composition written for the 8th graders (class of 2024). Due to COVID-19, the project was delayed.

Connection with the Community

Madison MacRogers, Student Representative, reported on:

- 1. The 2021-2022 school year has come to an end, and the 2022 graduates will be missed.
- 2. Spring seasons have officially ended and on a high note. Jack and Kyle Hehli are state champions for duos in tennis; track and field team made an appearance in multiple events at state; baseball had a good run in the playoffs; girls soccer made it all the way to a sectional game; and just this past weekend the trap team became state champions.
- 3. Summer sports have started, legion baseball and summer league basketball.
- 4. The swimming pool has now opened and swimming lessons have begun.

Correspondence

A thank you note from CCLR Scholarship recipient, Kate Fitzgerald, was read. A thank you note from Eric Jensen was read.

Public Comments – None.

Consent Agenda

R. Fitzgerald moved, C. Peterson seconded to approve the following Consent Agenda items:

- a. the Regular Board Meeting Minutes of May 23, 2022;
- b. the invoices to be paid;
- c. the resignations of Jason Holter as the Esports team coach, and middle school teacher Teri Lassig;
- d. to hire Benjamin Luther as a 1.0 FTE high school social studies teacher, Nicholas Seibert as a 1.0 FTE high school physical education teacher, Stacey Burds as a 1.0 FTE Speech and Language Pathologist, Payton Steiner as a 1.0 FTE elementary teacher, and Scott moline as a 1.0 FTE School Psychologist;
- e. the middle school and high school WIAA memberships for 2022-2023;
- d. Becki Murphy-head high school volleyball coach, Justin Jehn-head high school football coach, Julie Kamla-head high school girls tennis, Justin Stakston-head high school cross country coach; Ammar Sabar-head high school boys soccer coach;
- f. and to accept donations from the La Crosse Area Builders Association for the high school Tech. Ed. Department; and from Kristen Schwanke, Leslie Hill, Shelley Addington, Michelle Turnipseed, Christy Brodsky, Kelly Ostrem, Tabitha Ostrem, Laura Lambert, Rachel Aspenson, Michael Johnson, Jamie Steinhoff, Nancy Pradovic, Theresa Martinson, Peter Horth, Patricia Cox, April Anderson, Kate Pischke, Cassandra Fry, Lois Schams, Bradley Stoll, Wendy Engh, Heather Antony, Megan Weibel, Robin Fitzgerald, Jeanette Niemeier, Kaitlyn Melson, Sarah Grosz, Michelle Niemeier, Timothy Snyder, Lindsay Patterson, Sara Griffin, Terra Steuerwald, Jessica Munson, Emily Maxwell, Laura Farley, Kelly Scheel, Andrea Fritts, Jessieann Guentz, Emily Bowe, regan Koonce, Kris Gautsch, Angela Tamke, Kymberly West, Carla Davis, Mary Olson, Brook Middleton, Belen Vega, Brittany Parry, Heather Gustafson, Collette Schockman, Eve Zellmer, Jane Bangsberg Brenda Peterson, Chelsea and Adams.

Motion carried unanimously.

Discussion/Action Items:

E. Peterson moved, C. Peterson seconded to approve for a second reading of Neola Board Policy 750.03-Student Technology Acceptable Use and Safety, as it came out of the Policy/Communication and Engagement Committee and as it was for a first reading. Motion carried unanimously.

R. Fitzgerald moved, E. Peterson seconded to approve the co-curricular requests and schedule revisions for the 2022-2023 school year. Motion carried unanimously.

E. Peterson moved, R. Fitzgerald seconded to adopt the budget adjustments for the 21-22 school year as presented.

R. Fitzgerald moved, C. Peterson seconded to approve the administration's request for a parttime EL (English Learner) Teacher. Motion carried unanimously.

The list of to do items / information requests was reviewed. No action was taken.

Live Streaming of the Board Meeting ended, as noted on the Public Meeting Notice.

C. Griffin welcomed the motion for closed session: The Board will discuss, consider and, if appropriate, take action pursuant to Wis. Stats §19.85(1) (c) "Considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility" regarding the evaluation of the superintendent and setting the contract for the superintendent for the 22-23 school year.

R. Fitzgerald moved, E. Peterson seconded that the Board convene in closed session at 7:48 p.m. A roll vote was taken: R. Fitzgerald, Aye; E. Peterson, Aye; C. Peterson, Aye; and C. Griffin, Aye. Motion carried unanimously.

Closed Session

R. Fitzgerald moved, C. Peterson seconded to reconvene into Open Session at 9:06 p.m.

Open Session

E. Peterson moved, R. Fitzgerald seconded to set the wage for the superintendent, which included adjusting the Tax Sheltered Annuity. Motion carried unanimously.

Adjournment

E. Pe	terson moved	, R.	Fitzgerald	seconded t	to adjourn	at 9:08	p.m.	Motion	carried	unanimousl	ly.
-------	--------------	------	------------	------------	------------	---------	------	--------	---------	------------	-----

Respectfully submitted,	
Robin Fitzgerald, Clerk	